Deep Notos: The South Wind

Deep Notos: The South Wind

by Virginia Carraway Stark

Here we go again,

My eerily prescient friend

Stirring up our passions and chasing

The horses and wild things

Who must run when they feel your crop

We all respond to the heat of your loins

Whipping flames into a fury

Chasing both across the fields and forest

Notos, Deep Notos,

We are lost in you now

We have forgotten the bite of winter

In the blast of your passionate kiss

How well you raise our passions

How you stir our hearts

You make our blood pump with fervor

That no other wind will know

I don’t care what they say

Your deep kisses bite harder

Than even Boreas’ ice cold lips

There is no warm hearth to escape you

Are you having fun?

Turning the ground into parched cakes

Turning all that was green to brown

Ready for your flames

Notos, I long for you

My Southern Lover

All winter long while Boreas taps at my windows

And howls at my gates

But once you’re here your passion

Overwhelms me, I am weak in front of you

You freckle me and wilt me like a crocus after spring

– mixed media on wood, Copyright 2009 Virginia Carraway Stark

You can watch Virginia Carraway Stark read her poem here:

Here is some information about Notos, the God of the South Wind:

http://www.theoi.com/Titan/AnemosNotos.html

Leave a Reply

